Five Components of Lesson Planning

  1. Characteristics

http://www.google.ca/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=3&sqi=2&ved=0CC8QFjAC&url=http%3A%2F%2Fctle.hccs.edu%2Ffacultyportal%2Ftlp%2Fseminars%2Ftl1071SupportiveResources%2FTen_Characteristics_Adults-Learners.pdf&ei=RPQxVJ-OI9LeoAS_qwE&usg=AFQjCNEDu2pr6BtkdK2rMwc2GdCMthGb9A&bvm=bv.76802529,d.cGU

I selected this web file because it tackled a variety of adult learners’ characteristics and their implications that I, as an instructor, might encounter in the future. Using this as a guide, I would be resilient and ready to counter any situational challenges. Based on the situation, I would need to be ready to change my learning style at any given time and consider the following changes: applying relevance to the subject matter; being pragmatic; acknowledging the presence of adult diversity; recognizing the aging factor as this may delay submission of the assignment(s); and dealing with students resistant to change.

  1. Positive learning environment

http://www.usask.ca/gmcte/resources/teaching/environment

I found the web link very useful because I gained insight from otherexperienced professors, giving the description of what a positive learning environment entails. I chose this component because I believed that it was important to create a positive atmosphere for the adult learners in order to meet their learning needs. Advice I gathered from the video included being prepared prior to coming to class, organized, enthusiastic, open and understanding, flexible, accessible, compliment/acknowledge student’s efforts in class, and getting to know them as individuals would help me improve in my teaching practice.

  1. Motivation

http://theelearningcoach.com/elearning_design/isd/30-ways-to-motivate-adult-learners/

I find this website useful because it provides a list of strategies on how to motivate adult learners. Practicality, flexibility, and a mixture of teaching strategies appear to resonate in this component of lesson planning. I could incorporate these tips into my clinical practice by keeping the adult learners’ interested in the course. I would find ways to heighten their attention by creating a sense of mutual collaboration between the instructor and the adult learners rather than the traditional authoritative style of teaching. This promotes overall learner’s engagement, trust and respect, as well motivating them to stay focused.

  1. Assessment

http://www.education.com/reference/article/formative-and-summative-assessment/

I have selected the formative assessment tool because it relates to my nursing clinical teaching experience, particularly when determining the level of comprehension the adult learners gained during the initial phase of learning. This helps me identify the knowledge gaps they may have and what areas of theory need to be reinforced and put into practice. I consciously noticed that I have already experienced using similar procedures mentioned here such as providing immediate and reciprocated feedback from both parties, advising them to attend practice labs for additional support; encouraging self-reflective journals; and writing progress notes of their overall clinical performance.

  1. Strategies

www.nwcphp.org/documents/training/Adult_Education_Toolkit.pdf

This link is useful because of its described instructional methods such as group discussions, case scenarios, classroom training and lectures, experiential learning, and games, etc. I find these strategies would enhance my teaching style, because I could select the ones relevant to the subject I am about to teach. Another aspect that I like about this link is it illustrates how to gauge and increase retention of adult learners using the “cone of learning” technique. Again, it is crucial to select, as an instructor, which method to utilize in order to meet the learning goals of adult learners.

Leave a Reply

